Resolutions for 2013

So I was slack and didn’t post when I said I would. Okay, but before you roll your eyes, posting when I say I will is not one of my New Year’s resolutions. So there.

Anyway, I am here to talk about resolutions. I think I’ve made resolutions at New Year since I first learnt to write. It’s my kind of thing, making a list of outlandish promises; it works for me because I get to feel really disappointed when I, yet again, don’t actually achieve anything on my list. In fact I usually can’t remember what was on it.  But most years it looks something like this:

1. Lose weight

2. Stop eating so much shit

3. Do more exercise

4. Read more

5. Write more

6. Do yoga

7. Start my Masters

8. Move to [insert fantasy utopia here]

Some years I’m more specific, making my resolutions even harder to achieve. E.g. ‘Lose 30kg” or “Never eat icecream again” or “Do an hour of yoga every morning at 5am”.  Yeah. Not going to happen.  Now I have a child, those kinds of promises never have even the most remote chance of being kept.

So this year, I’m being a little more realistic. That’s not to say I’ve never been realistic, but if you ask anyone that knows me, they’ll tell you that my idea of realistic is about as real as the Tooth Fairy.  Who IS actually real, I saw her when I was six, believe me!

2013 Resolutions

1. Stop drinking so much caffeine. Now I’ve got my own espresso machine (and it’s a good one, Mr C doesn’t do things by halves, he researched the shit out of that mofo before buying), I just keep indulging. In fact, that’s not even it, the only difference is that I’m not buying coffee any more but I’m still having a few a day. And you know what’s worse? Now I can’t rationalise paying for coffee, I end up convincing myself it’s okay to buy one of those frappachiller frozen creamy caffeine-laced equivalent of eight meals drinks! Enough is enough!

2. Learn meditation and more yoga and actually do some a few times a week.  Yeah, okay, might be a little unrealistic, given the Dude rarely sleeps more than an hour or two most days, if that, but I did manage to do 30 minutes today (Intro to Kundalini, awesome!)

3. Stop letting the Dude watch tv so often. It’s seriously insane, he gets up in the morning and immediately asks for ‘bee bees’, his was of saying CeeBeeBees, which is the BBC’s kids channel. Some of the shows are okay, some are annoying, but regardless, he’s not even two years old, he shouldn’t be watching TV! And I think given I grew up with the TV located in a dedicated room (not the living room), plus with my Steiner upbringing and my previous stance of children’s TV watching, I should know better.  Which brings me to my fourth resolution.

4. Stop being so freaking lazy! Now this one really is unrealistic, because I believe it’s part of my true nature to be lazy, it’s like a genetic condition or something. But seriously, I know change is possible, especially given how much I’ve managed to change since the Dude has arrived, so I’m going to make a conscious effort to be less lazy. That doesn’t mean (for Mr C’s benefit) that I’m going to be keen to clean the entire house at 7am on a Saturday before I’ve had a coffee and breakfast. But it means I’ll be a little more motivated and organised on a domestic front. And I’ll endeavour not to lie around in bed in the morning and let the Dude run riot while I check facebook. And I’m deleting The Sims Freeplay from my phone. I mean seriously, that game is cool given it’s free but anyone with any kind of life should not be playing it.

5. Writing. Write at least a few chapters of my book, for Christ’s sake! I am so sick of having ideas thumping around in my head and then not writing them down. It’s not like I get much time to write these days, but all that time spent procrastinating instead of doing housework could at least be spent writing.

And that’s it. Oh, and move to Melbourne. But that’s not a resolution, that’s just something that is going to happen this year. And then we’ll see what real change is about!

Author: curiosikat

Writer, editor, linguist, social historian...

Leave a Reply

