Nomenclature

If you’ve read this blog more than once (not holding my breath here), you’d have noticed with confusion and probably an eye roll than I keep changing the name.

Names to date:
Curiosikat’s blog – back when I didn’t get blogging yet.
Lepidoptera – the Latin name or genus or something like that for moths. Cos I am scared of ’em. Yeah, lame.
Venatrix – means ‘huntress’ in Latin. Nuff said. Lame-o-rama.
Kat is curious – cos I’m curious. But I’m actually not so that sucks.
Can’t remember the others but, you guessed it, they were lame. Or as my mum put it when I asked her opinion about Venatrix, “slightly contrived”. And this is from a woman with a physical inability to be critical. Uh huh.

Names I’ve been thinking about:
Curiouser and curiouser – Alice in Wonderland reference of course and the whole reason I came up with Curiosikat back in 2008 when I started this blog malarky. Okay as a screen name but been done to death otherwise.
Down the rabbit hole, Through the looking glass and a bunch of other Alice crap – it’s my favourite book. But it appears to be a lot of other people’s favourite too. So yeah, been done.
Yggdrasil – the World Tree from Norse mythology because I have a random obsession with Scandinavia. But too weird and just… contrived.
Isabelle Bently – the pseudonym I always gave myself as a child.
Vassilisa the Beautiful – character from a Russian folktale my mum used to read to me. Sounds similar to my name… Actually no it doesn’t. I just thought of it and liked it.

I can’t remember all the different things I’ve come up with. What’s most important is that this is the last time I change it. It’s just getting silly now. And if I ever hope to gain some followers I need to be consistent at least with my name.

So… I’ve been toying with the idea of using my full name in the title. Because Kat is obviously just my nickname. I guess it all comes down to facing my fears about ‘people’ finding and reading this and knowing who I am. People in real life, friends and family. I know a few friends do read bits, or at least that’s what they tell me, but they are people I’ve given the address to. Not other people; who may have been mentioned, albeit briefly and never by name, in the occasional post. It’s not like I’ve said bad stuff but I just wouldn’t want to upset anyone.

My full name is pretty distinctive, especially in Australia (it’s not an English name). If someone googled me, they might be led here. Which isn’t that bad I guess. At the moment if you Google me you get some articles I wrote for magazines (nothing exciting, a government publication), some documentary film reviews, and heaps of discussion forum posts on genealogy forums. The spelling of my name is not too unique in Europe but in Australia I think it is a bit. So I can imagine googling my name from Australia may eventually bring up this blog. Then again, it’s possibly a bit arrogant of me to say that, as I know how google’s indexing works and I’d be lucky to get a spot on the first page of results. But I’m still a little nervous.

So. I’ve got to do it. I just think my first name really works. And other people do it, right? But they don’t write such personal stuff. Except Eden. But I can’t expect to ever be in that league. Actually most bloggers do share their real names. But most don’t share their secrets. Or do they? I think that’s a topic for another post.

For now, I’m going to think about it some more. I’ll be sure to explain in a short post if and when I do change it so at least anyone interested can work out what’s going on. Unlike the last 56 times. Sorry about that. Chief.

Author: curiosikat

Writer, editor, linguist, social historian...

1 thought on “Nomenclature”

Leave a Reply

