Who am I?

This is something that always plagues me whenever I blog. In fact I hesitated about starting a blog for ages simply because of this. I really don’t want to reveal my identity on my blog, yet I have this (perhaps self-indulgent) urge to spill my guts.  I guess it’s kind of like any social media, we want to tell the world what we’re doing, who we are, and the world is interested because people are interesting; voyeurism is interesting.

What I’ve really struggled with, though, is the fact that I don’t have much to do with my family, on both sides, and I don’t really want them reading anything I write. That’s not to say they can’t, but I just want nothing to do with them, so thinking they might read my blog is kind of concerning.  Let’s get this straight: these are not normal people.  I tend not to hold grudges, it’s not just about that; these are people who have serious psychological issues, people who have been really nasty to me for no good reason, people who I can never forgive, people whose presence in my life offers nothing but stress and unhappiness.  These are the people I would move to the other side of the world to avoid.  And these people generally have no lives and like to gossip.  Not that I could give a crap whether they talk about me or what they say, but it’s more that it makes me really angry that they dare to try and invade my space even though they know I want nothing to do with them and they are the cause of that.

All that aside, I’m still not entirely comfortable with telling the interwebs about the details of my life; not because I am closeted or secretive, far from it, but because what if some psycho dickhead reads it and does some research and finds out where I live and comes to kill me or something?  I read some fabulous blogs of lovely people who identify themselves by name and with photos.  You can easily work out roughly where they live and I reckon if you were a real weirdo you could hang out at the local shops and follow them home… and I dunno, murder them or something.  But thinking about it, what good does knowing someone’s name and what they look like do you?  If you’re going to stalk and murder someone, couldn’t you just do that, without having to stalk them online first?  So what am I so worried about?

Anyway, the whole point of this post is to say that I like talking about myself a lot but I will mainly avoid identifying myself via this blog, at least for the moment.  Maybe when I get more into the swing of regularly posting and feeling like I know what my blog is about, and maybe if I get a following (yeah right) then I will reconsider.  But for the moment, I am Curiosikat, I am mother of the Dude, wife to husband.  My husband and I text in Yoda speak (spaghetti for dinner, I will make), the Dude won’t sleep for more than half an hour by himself, I don’t have enough money, we live somewhere I hate, but we manage.

Author: curiosikat

Writer, editor, linguist, social historian...

Leave a Reply

