Career directions

So now I’m back in Australia, in Sydney, the place I vowed never to live again… I don’t know quite how this happened.  Well that’s not true, I do know, I agreed to let it happen, but I don’t know why I let it.  I still believe everything happens for a reason and things will pan out, but I can’t help but wonder how in my current situation.

Here I am in Sydney, a city I’ve begun to accept but will never love, living in a beautiful area but with no car and therefore reliant on horrible public transport… And to top it off, I’m job hunting.  It’s not a pleasant exercise, although it used to be, back in London.  There are plenty of jobs around, don’t get me wrong, but when you’re not totally sure of where you want to be and how you want to get there, things become messy…

Actually I think I do know something; I want to do more writing, to centre my career more on writing, and also on editing, because these are what I am excited and passionate about.  I’ve sunk too far into the digital world and now I’m having to remove myself slowly, without compromising my profile.  I do have a choice at least, that’s the great thing about living in 2010.  I just want someone to recognise the great potential in me and what I’m immediately capable of, and I want to be given a chance to show what I can do, but in the right context.

I said to my dad that I’m envious of his writing, but he said I have time to get into that.  To be continued…

Author: curiosikat

Writer, editor, linguist, social historian...

Leave a Reply

