Perpetual Tangent

I just know that something good is gonna happen. I don't know when, but just saying it could even make it happen.

The Canberra commute

So I’ve been working again now for a could of weeks, as I mentioned, and I drove in the first couple of times but taking the car is both impractical, as Mr Chewbacca needs it, and expensive, as the Forester eats fuel like mad. I’ve been taking the bus, which isn’t too bad, although relatively restrictive and takes longer than it needs to.

Since moving back to Canberra, I’ve had the thought that a bike might be a good idea. I have wanted to get into cycling for a while now, as I think it’s a good way to get around and get fit at the same time, and it’s really common to commute to work by bike in Canberra as the bike paths are so great.  The trouble is, the last bike I rode was in London, one that Blacksnake (one of my flatmates) stole on his way back from a drunken rampage, and I actually fell off it in the middle of Richmond high street, which was extra embarrassing as I was going about two kilometres an hour at the time and was just generally not coordinated. I can’t say I’ve ever been the biggest fan of mountain bikes, and this was one, a men’s one but that experience haunts me, although generally speaking it was a fun ride as we went from Hammersmith to Richmond Park and back and it was the best hangover cure ever!

My old bike looked something like this, only pink and sparkly. The seat was white with gold sparkly piping. Gorgeous! I actually hated that it was pink, but that’s another story…

I got my first bike for my 7th birthday. It was a pink, sparkly Repco with white handlebars and 22 inch wheels. I wanted a small blue bike that was almost already too small but my parents got me this one with its adjustable handlebars and saddle. I had a very rare tantrum in the shop, crying and carrying on. The main issue with it was that I wasn’t a very confident rider and I couldn’t touch the ground with both feet at once while sittig on the saddle. I’d never fallen off a bike and I was absolutely terrified at the prospect, not just of hurting myself but of being less than perfect at riding it straight away. The story of my life, it seems…

That pink Repco was still hanging around in my mum’s shed when I was in my early 20s. I’m not sure what happened to it now, probably got donated when she moved house, but needless to say it was a good investment as it was still rideable after I finished highschool. Although I was less than enthusiastic about being seen riding it in public by then. And of course riding a bike involved exerting effort which was something I tried to avoid at all costs, particuarly once I hit puberty. I had zero motivation, zero determination and zero confidence, even though I masked all this by claiming that I ‘couldn’t be bothered’ or that I ‘had better things to do’.

Since the birth of the Dude, something has really shifted in me in relation to my capacity for motivation. I had previously overcome my negative attitude after dating a very positive, driven guy for about six years, but going through the massive physical endurance of childbirth, particularly the birth that I experienced which involved 38 hours of contractions and a baby flipping from breech to vertex during labour, really changed me for the better. I realised, as I’m sure I mentioned at some point (maybe here) that I had really only been using about 10 per cent of my physical capacity through my life to that point. I wanted to run a marathon, climb a mountain, do any kind of physical endurance type activity. I could actually do all that stuff!

Earlier this year, I had a kinesiology session with a lovely friend who has just begun running her own practice. I had no idea what it was about or how it could benefit me, and to be honest I didn’t quite buy into it, sounded a bit airy fairy hippy and not based in reality. Yes, of course, I am quite airy fairy hippy myself, but often I like to see evidence of something before I will go along with it. But my friend is awesome and lovely and intelligent, so I came to it with an open mind. It was easy to do that as I googled a bit about kinesology beforehand and was none the wiser!

At first I couldn’t really tell if anything was happening. I didn’t know what was meant to happen or how the session was meant to progress. She gently asked me questions and did muscle testing, which seemed completely bizarre at first but I read about it afterwards and got some clarity. Anyway, regardless, it worked! I couldn’t believe it. One minute I was lying there trying to think of a traumatic event that had happened when I was four, as was suggested, something to do with my mum, my family. Something that shocked me and upset me. It’s hard to remember that far back, but I tend to be quite good at it. Suddenly, as my friend continued on with the session, I got an insight and I remembered something really horrible that had happened around that age. “Wait, I know what it is,” I said. And I related the event to her. As soon as I said it, I began to feel like I was falling. I lost my tummy, just like I do when I go on a roller coaster, or even just over a steep hill in the car. I have serious vertigo to the point where I can’t really function at heights and I feel dizzy and like I’m falling. This was exactly the feeling I was getting as I lay on the massage table relating my story. In that moment, I realised the vertigo wasn’t part of me, it wasn’t permanent, even though it’s something I have struggled with virtually all my life. I suddenly realised it was directly associated with this particular frightening incident that had happened when I was four. It was such a relief! I left the session feeling lighter and when I thought about doing something involving heights, I didn’t get that same sick feeling in the pit of my stomach any more. I still felt like it would be a challenge, but something I could actually do. I was changed. I’d always just assumed being afraid of heights was genetic as my mum has a similar issue, but I realised after this session that I could let all of that go and actually enjoy things like others do. I felt sad for the five-year-old who gritted her teeth and pretended not to be afraid when being pushed on the swing. I didn’t have to be that way.

As a result of this kinesiology session, and coupled with my new found motivation for moving more, I actually felt realistic about being a fit person. As soon as we talked about moving to Canberra, the thought of getting a bike poked its head up, and I haven’t been able to shake it since. Now that we’re here, I feel like I could really do it. I really want to do it! The trouble is, the commute is not short at between 16 and 18 kilometres, and I know next to nothing about cycling and bikes. I have done a fair bit of googling and reading online and I’ve come to the conclusion that I’m after a hybrid bike of medium size but other than that I have no idea. About a week ago we went to a bike shop and I actually got to try one out, a Giant Cypress, and it was freaking fantastic! I rode around slightly dodgily and the Dude, sporting a random helmet he’d picked up somewhere in the shop, ran around chasing me. I really enjoyed it, and even though it was slight over my budget at about $550, I think I can get something awesome for what I can afford. Only time will tell. Now I have to come up with a way of actually building up to being able to commute so far! Can I bring myself to use those weird bike racks on the front of buses? Will I fall off and look like a douche? Will I actually be able to stick at it long enough to enjoy it and be able to commute each way every week? I don’t know but I’m going to find out…

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “The Canberra commute

  1. Pingback: Riding a Bike | PeoplePlacesThings

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 270 other followers

